Google Secretly Installs Surveillance Apps on User Phones

The tastiest things about web design

Google Secretly Installs Surveillance Apps on User Phones

“Google Secretly Installs Surveillance Apps on Users’ Phones”

Fake or not?

Fake: “Google Secretly Installs Surveillance Apps on Users’ Phones”

A video of the author showing his phone with the “COVID-19 infection risk notification” feature is being discussed on the web. The voice-over claims that “without request and without explanation, an American company installs this phone tracker app” and that “it’s impossible to turn it off.”

That’s not true.

First, the video clearly shows that the feature is already disabled. This is evidenced by the inscription “disabled” immediately below the name of the new option.

Secondly, the Exposure Notification technology that the app uses was announced by Google back in April 2020. Therefore, it is impossible to say that the function appeared in the phones secretly.

Thirdly, by default, the COVID-19 Infection Risk Notification feature is disabled for everyone. It can be activated only by the owner of the device, manually specifying the necessary settings.

Fourth, Exposure Notification does not allow you to track users. It works via Bluetooth and can only receive signals from nearby mobile devices, provided that this function is also enabled in them.